What Happens if I Refuse a Breath Test?

Massachusetts criminal law attorney Steve Brooks shares with you what penalties you may face if you refuse to take a breath test when pulled over.

If you’re arrested for drunk driving, it is very common for a breath test to be completed by the officer. While it is your right to refuse the test, that choice does come with some administrative penalties. What that means is that these penalties will still be applied even if you win your case and are cleared of charges. No matter what, you’re obligated to these penalties. Under the first offense, you can lose your license for 180 days. The second and third offenses are much stricter, resulting in a 3 and 5 year loss of license respectively. If you continue to refuse these tests, it can actually result in the removal of your license for 8 years or even a complete revocation of the license altogether — forever. Watch the video now to learn more.

More DUI videos:

If you have legal questions, I want you to call me at 781-277-7321. I welcome your call.

[view google map]


Brooks & Crowley LLP serves clients throughout Massachusetts, and has offices in Dedham, Boston and Norwell


Main Office:

Brooks & Crowley LLP.
439 Washington Street,
Dedham, MA 02026
781-277-7321

Tel. 781-277-7321 | Fax 800-625-9021

Boston Office:

Brooks & Crowley LLP
112 Water Street
Boston, MA 02109

Tel. 781-277-7321 | Fax 800-625-9021

Norwell Office:

Brooks & Crowley LLP
320 Washington Street
Norwell, MA 02061

Tel. 781-277-7321 | Fax 800-625-9021

  

© Copyright 2017 Brooks and Crowley | All rights reserved. | Sitemap | Legal | Contact |

Web/Marketing created and maintained by WSI PRO Marketing.